A LOVEly Affair

Finally, it was my turn!!!! After years of planning events and weddings for other people, it was time to turn the attention on me. But, because this is what I do for a living, I decided I wanted a small, no fuss wedding that was more about family and fun. But, it had to be pretty, of course. Our first big problem was that my fiancee wanted a huge bash and I wanted a small wedding. Now I call my fiancee “The mayor of South Beach” because he has been in the industry for so long that he knows everybody! And I did not want a 500 person wedding. So I came up with this great concept that I now suggest to my brides with the same dilemma. Have a small ceremony and dinner for your family, followed by a big party for everyone. It was a little tough working out the logistics at first, but it turned out to be a huge success!

Choosing my colors was easy. My favorite color is blue, and I think hot pink looks best for small weddings, so I combined the two and voila. I chose lamps as centerpieces because I like the height that they give the space and I knew my guests hadn’t seen anything like it. I also found these great LOVE signs. I painted them silver and had them placed on the table next to many sizes of vases with floating candles. To finish things of, my favorite florist Pistils and Petals, used blue sea glass and pink orchids to fill up the table. There is nothing I dislike more than an empty table.

Joan Love Event Firm wedding reception table in pink and blueSilver love paperweight surrounded by pink orchids and blue seaglass on wedding reception table in Miami Beach.

For the ceremony I knew the one thing I had to have was an interesting aisle runner. I love the idea of using a fabric with a fun print on it instead of the boring white runner. This instantly gives the space a focal point and looks so pretty in pictures. I think it looks way better than the outdated vases, flowers, or tulle that are used to mark the aisle.

Blue wedding aisle runner with white leaves printed on it at Miami beach wedding ceremony

I love Martha Stewart weddings. I get so many ideas from there which I then put my own twist on. I like the idea of using a box filled with candy and toys as the place card for kids. It looks very cute on the table and it keeps the child entertained during the dinner.

Kids gift box with cobalt blue grograin ribbon and round silver label.

For the place cards, I used grosgrain ribbon in pink, blue, and silver. Each color represented a different meal choice. That way the servers were able to serve the correct meal to each guest.

White place card with blue edges and cobalt blue grosgrain ribbon and blue seaglass for Miami wedding

I have three pets at home which I love very much. However, there was no way I was bringing them to my wedding. Even though we sometimes do this per our client’s request. I never recommend having a pet as part of the wedding party since they have a mind of their own and they never listen to the wedding planner! So, I came up with this idea. I took pictures of my dogs and my lovebird playing with, sitting on, eating, and tearing up the table numbers. I then placed the pictures on the tables. Everyone loved seeing their crazy personalities in the pictures!

Dog in picture with table number. Hot pink carnations and midnight blue pintuck linens at Miami wedding.

I love painted wedding cakes. It is a great way to give a modern twist to a classic wedding element without going over the top. I had my absolute favorite cake artist, Rosie from Elegant Temptations, paint some branches on a simple, white, three tiered cake. She also added strands of Swarovski crystals to the bottom edges. I love how she finished the strands with these little tassels. Such a cute detail. BTW, the cake was amazingly delicious. Red velvet marble and Godiva chocolate! Yum!

Painted three tier wedding cake with branches and white and pink orchids Branches painted on white, three-tiered wedding cake. White orchids on side.Blue swarovski strand with end tassels on white wedding cake for Miami wedding

And then it was time to party! We chose the beautiful rooftop lounge at the Gansevoort hotel. We personalized the cabanas with throw pillows that were personalized, “LOVE”. Vases were placed on the tables and bar that were then used to hold the bouquets. Finally, one of my favorite DJs on the beach, Aliyo, rocked it out as our friends arrived to dance and drink the night away with us. It was a great time for our guests and an unforgettable night for us.

Party cabana at lounge decorated with personalized throw pillows for Miami wedding receptionJoan Montanez and Chad Love, bride and groom on round couch at Miami wedding reception.

Thank You to Magda Hernandez for these fabulous photos!!

1 Response to “A LOVEly Affair”


  1. 1 cayisa February 3, 2010 at 12:17 am

    Wow Joan another great event from your company! I have never seen anyone who works at the level you do! I cant wait for you to plan the big opening of my company, in late Feb. I look forward to seeing all of your other events on your blog!

    Cayleen
    CEO Cayisa


Leave a Reply

The Bridal Trunk Miami

The Bridal Trunk Miami

Tweet Tweet

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


